Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

“Wheel spacers are for idiots…!”

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-26-2008, 12:32 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
“Wheel spacers are for idiots…!”

“Wheel spacers are for idiots…!” That’s what I was told when I went into a local rim shop while shopping for new shoes for my G.

An old man behind the counter with a history of plaques, trophies, and photos hung on the wall behind him confirming his past presence in the world of auto racing explained to me why it was that in this new era of auto enthusiasts, many of us who search and seek out wheels spacers for the purpose of “looks” end up dampening the performance and handling factor of today’s prestigious automotive machines.

Now I’m no expert with regards to this, and so what he ended up pitching to support this theory (or fact to him) in all honesty did somewhat match up and made somewhat sense to my elementary knowledge regarding this. In short, he stated that due to the extension of length at which the wheels will now protrude from the hub, aside from the power loss to the wheels as a direct result of power travel (forgot what his technical name of this he had said, but it's the same issue with front engine, RWD cars that lose power inertia through the drive axle), there is the added stress to the suspension components, therefore increase the risk of mechanical failure during aggressive driving conditions (turns, acceleration, braking, etc.).